2020 Local 791 Scholarship Applications

Now Available


Applications are now being accepted by the United Food and Commercial Workers Union, Local 791 for four (4) $1000 Frank Cabral Academic Achievement Awards.

The $1000 Philip T. Chancholo Memorial Scholarship will be awarded for the best essay on “What Organized Labor Means to Me.”

Also to be awarded through a lottery drawing process will be: one (1) $500 David Mumford Memorial Scholarship, one (1) $500 Wayne Lombardi Memorial Scholarship, one (1) $500 Thomas Bourque, Jr. Memorial Scholarship, one (1) $500 John Scully Memorial Scholarship, one (1) $500 Jeffrey Baker Memorial Scholarship, one (1) $500 George L. Simmons III Memorial Scholarship, one (1) $500 James R. Pinardi Memorial Scholarship, one (1) $500 Larry Mooers Memorial Scholarship, one (1) $500 John C. Derouen Memorial Scholarship, one (1) $500 Gert C. Runey Memorial Scholarship and one (1) $500 John DiBari Memorial Scholarships.


To be eligible, you must be a Union member or the son, daughter or spouse of a Union member in good standing with full initiation paid at the time of application.


The Union member must be active at the time the scholarship is awarded.


Applications may be obtained from the Steward or Alternate Steward at your location and must be completed and received at the Local 791 Union office prior to April 24, 2020.


Faxed applications will not be accepted.


For questions, please call Peter Derouen at the union office



UFCW Local 791 Scholarships

Application Deadline Date Extended


Due to the COVID-19 crisis, the UFCW Local 791 Scholarships application deadline date of April 24, 2020 has been extended to May 29, 2020.

We will assess the situation as we get closer to the new deadline date of May 29, 2020, to determine if another extension is warranted.


United Food and Commercial Workers Union

Local 791


55 Norfolk Avenue

South Easton, MA 02375




Proudly serving workers in Massachusetts,

Rhode Island and Maine since 1947

Russell F. Regan, President
Frank J. Runey, Secretary-Treasurer